Of Mac And Cheese And Elevators

It was The Boy’s turn to make us supper last night, and he made mac and cheese. Just pasta, cheese and a little egg. No veggies. I don’t know how on earth he has never struggled with his weight – it makes me want to smack him! It’s easy to see how I have put so much weight on since moving in with him.

I was planning on making a salad to go with it, but I got stuck in our elevator on the way home. For almost an hour, by myself! I am mildly claustrophobic – small spaces make me uncomfortable. Combine that with the sudden jerking of the elevator and the battery of my extremely old phone dying before I could call for help and the emergency phone button on the wall giving me a busy signal, I was especially freaked. Thankfully the alarm button worked – I held it down until one of my neighbors came to investigate and shouted through the walls my problem. They got the buildings super for me, who called the elevator company, who eventually came and got me out.

After the ordeal was over I had two glorious, cheesy, greasy helpings of supper, just as it was, and I was so very uncomfortably full afterwards. I guess my stomach is already used to smaller helpings. I would have been full after one helping, but I am so used to eating larger portions that I didn’t stop to think about whether I was still hungry until my plate was empty for the second time.

For me the 5:2 diet is not just about losing weight, but respecting and taking care of my body, so in the future I will make the effort to keep my portion sizes in check and eat foods that are better for me. My body was clearly telling me that it was not happy with what I are last night, so I need to take the time to listen to it in the future.

On the plus side, I had no room left for ice cream! Also, my new found fear of elevators is sure to do wonders for my cardio, since I live on the 11th floor. I’m taking the stairs for the next little while…

Leave a comment